Posted by: Haroon Rashid | January 1, 2011

Duas of Prophet (PBUH)

Duas of the Prophets (Peace Be Upon Them)

Adam (AS)
‘Rabbana zalamna anfusina wa il lam taghfir lana wa tarhamna lana kunan minal-khasireen’.

…Our Lord! We have wronged our own souls: If thou forgive us not and bestow not upon us Thy Mercy, we shall certainly be lost. [7:23]

Nuh (AS)
“My Lord, I seek refuge in You from asking that of which I have no knowledge. And unless You forgive me and have mercy upon me, I will be among the losers.” (11:47)

Ayyub (AS)
‘Rabbu inni massani-yadh-urru wa ‘anta arhamur-Raahimeen’.

O my Rubb, Surely, distress has touched me, and You are the most Merciful of the merciful ones. [surah al-Anbiya; 21:83]

Yunus (AS)
‘La ilaha illa Anta subhanaka, inni kuntu minadh-dhalimeen’.

There is no god but You, You are Glorified, I was indeed the wrongdoer

Sa’d ibn Waqas (RA) reported that the Prophet (SAW) said, “The supplication made by the Companion of the Fish (Prophet Yunus (as)) in the belly of the fish was (the above). If any Muslim supplicates in these words, his supplication will be accepted.”

In another report we read, “I know words that will cause Allah to remove one’s distress. These are the words (of supplication) of my brother Yunus, peace be upon him” [at-Tirmidhi]

Musa (AS)
‘Rabbi inni lima anzalta ilayya min kharyin faqeer’.

(My Lord, I am ever needful of any favor that You may send my way).

Muhammad (PBUH)
‘Allahumma anta Rabbi la ilaha illa anta, Anta Khalaqtani wa ana abduka, wa ana ‘ala ahdika wa wa’dika mastata’tu, A’udhu bika min Sharri ma sana’tu, abu’u Laka bini’matika ‘alaiya, wa Abu Laka bidhanbi faghfirli innahu la yaghfiru adhdhunuba illa anta’.

(O Allah! You are my Lord! None has the right to be worshipped but You. You created me and I am Your slave, and I am faithful to my covenant and my promise as much as I can. I seek refuge with You from all the evil I have done. I acknowledge before You all the blessings You have bestowed upon me, and I confess to You all my sins. So I entreat You to forgive my sins, for nobody can forgive sins except You).

Shaddad ibn Aws (RA) relates that the Prophet (PBUH) said that he (Sayyid al-Istighfar) most superior way of asking for forgiveness from Allah (SWT) is to say (the above du’a). That “If somebody recites it during the day with firm faith in it, and dies on the same day before the evening, he will be from the people of Paradise; and if somebody recites it at night with firm faith in it, and dies before the morning, he will be from the people of Paradise.”

[sahih al-Bukhari; 8,75,318, at-Tirmidhi; 3393, an-Nasa’i; 5522, Ahmad; 16662]

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

